Home Page


Early Years Foundation Stage


We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. This is a very important curriculum as it helps your child get ready for school, as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure and support their development, care and learning needs.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.  Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first.  These are:

  •  Communication and language
  •  Physical development
  •  Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas.  These are:

  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the world 
  • Expressive arts and design


These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities.  The key-person chosen to support your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. 


For further information about the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum and what to expect, please visit the following website;

  • Opening Hours
  • 8am-6pm Monday - Friday